Hi everyone :)

Amanda.Cox - Headshot

Hey Guys,

Thanks for joining me on this crazy adventure.

The point of this blog is to discuss my Master’s thesis.  I’m doing tons of research, reading lots of books, scouring the internet, and I guess I just need to share it with… YOU! 🙂

So who am I?  I’m a Master’s students at Carleton University studying Interdisciplinary Design.  What does that mean?  It means I have two supervisors… and can study product design + any other field basically.  My other field is International Development.  So that means my thesis basically looks at design for “developing countries”… although I have some issues with the term, it seems to be the most prevalent in current literature.

So welcome to my blog.  I would love advice… y’know, on what to read, which TedTalk to watch… and what you think!

I will soon post a booklist of what I’ve read, or plan to read soon, and will try to update it as much as possible.

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

