ReBlog – Building Resilience

why dev b

Title and Link: Five ways to build resilience: a practical guide

Brief Summary – This article talks about how development workers need to work on their resilience, and how this essential skill is often missing in the training that these workers receive.  It offers 5 steps on how to build resilience.  The steps are: know your pain, get curious, self-compassion, gratitude, and soothing.

My Thoughts – I think this guide could be immensely useful for anyone, whether you work in the development sector or not.  I have recently (within the last 2 years) become very passionate about the idea of gratitude and its positive effects on everyday life.  It is so important that people take time to reflect and be able to understand and live with their emotions.  Contrarily, it is important to be grateful for the things you have.  This positive mind-frame will actually make you a happier person.  I hope that more people start realizing the potential of resilience and gratitude, as it can make everyone a better person, with a life that they find more satisfactory.

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Re-Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

