My First Fundraiser

As you all know, I’m going to Ghana with EWB.  This means that I need to support the chapter and the organization by doing a bit of fundraising.  I wanted to hold a fun event that could bring all different people together in a fun way.  I hope everyone can make it, or at least help spread the word! Please feel free to invite friends, family and co-workers.

The event will be held at Absolute Comedy on Tuesday, May 27 at 8:30pm. The donations will be supporting the local chapter of EWB, as well as our Mobile Business Clinic venture located in Ghana.


The tickets are $12.50 (so $25 for 2 tickets or $50 for 4 tickets) and give you the chance to see a comedy MC, Headliner and 4 other local comics. If you’ve never been, Absolute is always a fun time, and is a great excuse to get out with a group of friends, or even a date. Drinks and food are also available for purchase before or during the show. To Buy Tickets – You can pay me in cash when I drop off the tickets for you, or you can simply donate $12.50/ticket on this website (https://enable.ewb.ca/amandacox) and include a message that says “Ticket(s) for the Comedy Fundraiser.” Also please email AmandaCox@ewb.ca to say whether you would like me to drop off the tickets at your house, or if you would like to pick them up the night of the show.  If you would like them to be dropped off, I need the address as well. Absolute Comedy is located at 412 Preston Street. The show starts at 8:30pm, so please be there by 8pm to get seated and order drinks/food to enjoy during the show.  You will also have to call and reserve your seat (and tell them the number of people in your group, so that you can all sit together). Also, you can find the facebook event here https://www.facebook.com/events/314092212081462/

I look forward to seeing you there!
If you’re not in town, or you have other plans, or you’re crazy because you don’t like comedy….You can help me to fundraise on my “Enable” website, hosted by Engineers Without Borders!  I would really appreciate your support. 🙂
About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Ghana (2014) - Professional Fellow Placement (EWB) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

