Try New Things… You Might Just Like it!

I think trying new things is what makes trips fun, and makes it easier to learn about new cultures.  What’s the point of going somewhere new if you’re going to do things the way you’ve always done them?  I think the best thing to do is to try new things, and I think it’s worth it, even if you end up hating the new things, at least you’ll learn about yourself!

DSCN7133DSCN7156

You Might Hate It!

Trying new things is a total gamble, there’s no guarantee that you’ll like what you try, in fact, you might absolutely hate it and vow to never do it again!  I think it’s still worth it.  Worst-case scenario, you get a good story.  Best-case scenario, you learn a ton about yourself!

One such example of this during my trip was in the Salt Flats.  Now some of my travel mates said they were looking forward to these days the most out of any of the places in all of the countries we were travelling.  Now, although I can’t say I did my research, I didn’t understand what the fuss was about.  I did have a nice time, and took cool pictures, but mostly it was boring and freezing.  Also, the dried llama meat left something to be desired.  I wouldn’t go back, but it make some cool photos, and I’m glad I went!

DSCN5642DSCN5669

You Might Think You’ll Hate It…. But It’s Actually Alright

Sometimes things are hard to start, especially when you’re in a bad mood.  It’s really easy to be sick or tired… and then turn that into a grumpy mood that lasts all day.  For me, a grumpy mood usually makes me want to pout and refuse things that are new.  However, often these are the times when a positive attitude would be most beneficial!

For example, in the jungles of Peru we had no power, and I was hot.  We had to get up around 6 for breakfast, and I was not impressed.  We were taken on a hike through the woods just as it started to rain, and we had to wear these horrible ponchos that stick to your body.  I wanted to quit right then and there, but I was committed to finishing what I had started.  I probably complained a ton, and didn’t even want to take any pictures.  However, after a couple hours I started learning new things and found it quite relaxing.  I found there was nothing wrong with our guide or our jungle tour, it was just my attitude that was the reason I was having a horrible time.  When I decided I was going to have fun… guess what, I did!  I learned about new plants and animals, relaxed in a boat, and got some exercise.  In fact, the Amazon Jungle was one of my favourite parts of my whole time in South America by the end.

DSCN7734 DSCN7737

You Just Might Like It

Try new things, and you may gain a new appreciation and hobby for life!

So in Santiago, Steve and I decided to go to the opera, it was called Lakme.  Although it was written over 100 years ago in French, about English colonial times in India, and had subtitles in Spanish, I loved it.  It reminds me of the ballet, where you don’t really need to know the story, or understand the words, to feel moved and entertained.  Also, it ended up being only about $10 each, was perfectly timed for while we were there, and was just down the street for our hotel!  We had seats way up in the back, but it didn’t really matter. I had a good time.  Although I’m not planning to go every week, or even every month, I have a new appreciation for the opera, and might check out shows when travelling to a new city, or when they happen to be in the Ottawa area.  I could always use new activities. 🙂

Having a positive attitude is definitely a good start.  Let me know if you find any techniques or strategies that work for you…

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

