My Little Home Away from Home

It feels great to put my bags down and have my own home away from home!

DSCN8468 (2)DSCN8469 (2)

So, this is my brand new bedroom and I’m pretty happy with it!  It’s very simple, with a desk, chair, bed and 2 cabinets. But I love the light, it has a fan, and the windows open with screens to let in a breeze (and keep out the bugs).  My door locks, and there’s lots of floor space if I want to exercise or do crafts.  The house has 3 bedrooms, 1 for me, 1 for Mike (a fellow ProF) and 1 for the landlady, Denise, and her adopted 5-year-old Ghanaian son, Kwame.  The rules seem okay, but I’m not sure yet if I should do my own laundry and meals, I’m terrified at how bad my hand-washing might be!  The house is also very close to work (which is awesome), but further away from downtown (which makes taking a taxi home after dark pretty expensive).  I think it’s worth the trade off!

DSCN8475DSCN8482

So I brought a lot of stuff to Ghana (what a surprise! :P)  After a few hours I was able to unpack all my stuff and settle in.  It turns out that most of my stuff is clothes and toiletries (but at least I don’t need to bring any toiletries back, so I’ll have room for souvenirs!).  I also had to bring a huge motorcycle helmet, which I’m planning to leave here.  I did set up my bed net to prevent malaria, but the ceiling is made of cement, the nail didn’t go in very far, and it fell on my head the first night!  Hmm, I’ll have to think of another solution!

DSCN8470

Not only is a house a great thing because of it’s physical features (a bed for resting, a kitchen for nourishment, bathroom facilities for comfort, a gate for security) but it’s also important for psychological well-being (aka. my sanity).  I need somewhere to chill, to read, to have quiet time, to be myself… and this will be my place for the next 4 months!  I love the mural on the wall, it brings out the inner calm and creative part of me.  Perhaps it will entice me to meditate, sketch, do yoga, and all of the other things I tend to neglect when I’m not paying enough attention to myself.

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Ghana (2014) - Professional Fellow Placement (EWB) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

