EWB’s 5 Year Direction, rewritten

This blog was written by another fellow who is currently working in Ghana (though based out of a different city – Tamale – and working with a different venture – Amplify Governance). It gives a more detailed description of the work that EWB does, and where the goals and priorities lie within the organization. I thought it would be a good follow-up to my blog about work yesterday, and clarify any of the questions you’re still wondering about. I think it helps to make a lot more sense out of things… thanks Beth! 🙂

Rebuilding Foundations

Last year the Engineers Without Borders (EWB) National Office (NO) wrote a new 5 Year Direction plan.  I’ve been involved with EWB for years, but I still only vaguely understand what statements such as “Our collective challenge is to unlock innovation” mean.  Give these documents to a First Year (or even Fourth Year) university student and the response is usually along the lines of “…Uh…what?”

I personally don’t like EWB’s jargon, but I understand their counterargument: they don’t want to be caged into someone else’s definitions, so they’re trying to invent their own vocabulary to describe their organization.  Still, though, no one else knows what they’re saying!  What’s the point of a written document if it doesn’t actually communicate your ideas?

I’m not trying to rag on EWB.  Their 5 Year Direction is super impressive.  However, I’ve taken the liberty to rewrite it into words that I understand.  That being…

View original post 594 more words

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Re-Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

