A new place to live

As most of you know, Mike and I were forced to leave our first home unexpectedly (to be discussed in another post)!  However, we are now in a new home and finally starting to feel all settled in again! I know where to buy groceries, catch the trotro, and I even have a gym (with a big, marvelous pool) nearby!  Hopefully this will be my last post about new homes in Accra, and I will not have to be shown that third times the charm…

DSCN8784DSCN8778DSCN8781DSCN8782

This is my bedroom.  It has 4 big closets, 2 twin beds (one I use as a night table), and 2 big windows.  There’s also a vanity and air conditioning.  I have a fan to keep me cool at night, which doubles as a mosquito repeller (it blows them away so they can’t get you). There is also a mosquito net to sleep in when the power goes out (which I hate, since it makes me feel hot and claustrophobic).  I have my own bathroom (score!) which even has hot water when the electricity is working (there’s a switch I have to turn on about an hour before showering).

Our new place is great!  We really love the independence.  I can come and go as I please, and I have my own space where I can chill and keep all of my stuff.  Using the kitchen is nicer because there is only two of us sharing.  There’s even 3 bathrooms (which seems excessive) because we each have one in our room and there’s a third one for guests (off of the living room).  It has a balcony is we want to sit outside, and the neighbourhood feels really safe.

DSCN8753DSCN8765

This is our kitchen and our living room (before we moved in).  We now have some clothes lines in our living room to hang up our delicates, and we sometimes have a microwave on our counter (when Mike isn’t lugging it back and forth to the repair shop!).

Kitchen – Unfortunately, after a few weeks of living at our house we found that ants were weirdly attracted to the butter on the counter.  We kills those ants and hoped that would be the end of the problem… We were so wrong! Since then we have daily armies of ants parading down the wall. We spray them with raid and ensure that every single item of food is in a zip-loc bag, but we can’t yet seem to be rid of them. Thankfully, they’re not the big ants!  We used to have a mystery dust pile that appeared each day in the hallway, and our landlord said it was from the wood trim.  However, since the ants appeared, the dust has left – perhaps they’re related?  Or perhaps it’s because it is not hot and humid outside?  We’ll probably never know…

Landlord – Our new landlord is lovely.  She’s Ghanaian but has an American accent after living in the United States for a number of years.  She’s totally reasonable about all her rules, and accepted our payments in chunks (since we weren’t able to take it all out of the ATM at once).  Her grandsons come and help fix up the place (when the sink leaks or there are issues with the gas stove).  Mostly they’re just the people in the other house, and everyone just does their own thing.  It totally suits me.

DSCN8749DSCN8774

This is our courtyard (we share it with a larger house where the landlord and her family live).  The second picture is me enjoying a glass of wine on the balcony on the first night after I moved in.

Electricity – Our electricity situation is a bit problematic, but I don’t think it’s because of our new neighbourhood.  Our power at work and in other areas has been out a lot these past few weeks as well.  This means that about one in every 2-3 nights there is not electricity in our house when we get home from work.  Thankfully our stove uses gas so we can still make dinner, though it’s a lot harder to cut vegetables in the dark!  However, there’s not much to do without electricity.  Usually I play on my computer until it dies (and pray there will be electricity by the morning to charge it up again), and then read a bit by candlelight until it starts bothering my eyes.  That’s about it, and then you go to bed early.  Hopefully the ECG (Electric Company of Ghana) gets the problem fixed soon.

DSCN8747DSCN8745

This is the building we live in.  Each floor is a 2-bedroom apartment. and we chose the top floor.  The stairs to walk up are on the right side.  Currently, nobody is living in the bottom unit.  This is the street that leads up to our gate.

Neighborhood – I really love the neighbourhood.  It’s not full of expats and all the hawkers that come along with that.  It’s pretty easy to get around the city – we can take one trotro to work, one to Osu (the expat area with all of the good bars, restaurants and shops), and one to Labadi beach.  The people are really friendly and always say hi, as well as offering to help with my groceries when I’m carrying a big load.  It’s well lit at night (when the power is on), so I always feel safe.  There’s also lots of shops to buy everyday things like power bars, wine, bread, and phone cards.  What I can’t buy locally I can get at the big grocery store on the way home.


So this is my new ‘hood… I think I’m going to like it here! 🙂

 

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Ghana (2014) - Professional Fellow Placement (EWB) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new place to live

  1. Erika says:

    Congrats on settling in! Seems like a nice place 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

