Why I think Shopify would be a great fit for me!

So this blog will be a little bit different than my normal stories of life in Ghana and International issues. This is all about considering… what’s next?

I’ve been in Ghana for 5 months and I’ve learned a lot about myself. I’ve learnt to be patient and grateful. I’ve worked with all different types of people and made friends from around the world. I’ve honed my blogging skills and worked on capacity building in the agricultural sector. Now what?

What do I want to do with my life? How can I make a difference?

I want to settle down for a bit. I still love to travel but it will be nice to be around friends and family in a place that’s familiar. That’s when I saw the ad online for the Office Coordinator position at Shopify. It sounds perfect!

Not only would I get to interact with creative people each day and meet tons of new faces, but I would get to use some of my biggest skills in the process: planning and organization! For those of you who know me well (and especially those I’ve traveled with), you know I’ve always been a queen of multitasking. I love making agendas, highlighting calendars, and planning schedules. I couldn’t stand a job where I never got to interact with others, and my product design background makes me a perfect fit for a company with such a great culture of creativity and innovation!

So, how do you at Shopify know that I’m the right fit… that I have all the skills necessary for this position? I’m going to tell you a little about my life in Ghana.  I think you’ll agree that if I can be organized here, I can organize the heck out of your office in Ottawa as well!

wpid-20141027_204346.jpg

My current position is at Engineers Without Borders in Accra (which is the capital of Ghana). For those that don’t know, Ghana is having serious trouble with power generation, and thus the lights are out at least a third of the time in most areas of my city.  This can make working on the computer (or any other job like manufacturing or being a tailor) almost impossible unless you have another area in the city to go to (or a generator – but the fuel is also too expensive for most people).  My computer was dead from using it all day, and I was saving the juice on my phone to make sure it could still be my alarm the next morning. I was not going to let this stop me from planning the rest of my time here!  I broke out some scrap paper, and dug the highlighters out of my emergency pencil case.  I got to work (by LED lantern), making not just a workplan and scheduling events, but also figuring out the best times for my friend and I to travel around the country and get to know the people and places of the country where we spent half a year (see picture above).  The next day I went online to look at hotels, plan travel routes, and look at fun activities.  Let me tell you this is not easy feat in Ghana.  Phone numbers are out of date, nobody has an answering machine, and most small businesses do not have a website.  But since then, my friend Yazan and I have at at least three amazing adventures planned primarily by moi (which you can read about in other entries of this blog). I am an organized, multitasking, problem solving planner – through and through.

Shopify – If you hire me I will do an amazing job at making sure everything is organized and running smoothly.  Please give me the chance at an interview to discuss this opportunity further… I would love to meet you all! 🙂

shopify

P.S. Shopify is a really cool brand that helps people and companies set up online platforms to sell their products.  It’s simple, easy to use, and creative – just perfect!  For all my friends out there studying design… Shopify also has some really great UI and other design jobs in Ottawa and Toronto… check them out!

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I think Shopify would be a great fit for me!

  1. Val says:

    You go girl..that would be perfect for you!

    Like

  2. Brian says:

    Hey Amanda, I’ve got a contact at the Ottawa Shopify office. Want me to put you in touch with him?

    Like

Leave a Reply

