Quotes from life in Ghana

Since I arrived in Ghana I’ve been collecting a list of funny, inspirational, and random quotes that I hear very often in my everyday life.  Here are some of my favourites….

“Wow, look at that. Nothing says fancy like gold pillars.”
– Regarding a building near our office in Madina

“Y’know, this 50 peswa bow-fruit is 10 cedis good, but that 30 cedi red-red from last night was delicious, but only 20 cedi delicious. “
– Wow, that wouldn’t have made any sense to me a week before, I’m really starting to understand some simple things about life here

“It’s really wet but not that exciting.”
– My thoughts, after trying fresh papaya for the first time (thanks to some nice farmers from the Eastern Region who we met with about our training program)

“She can party all night if she wants to.”
– said the crime officer at the police station after I was illegally evicted for getting home late

“We claim to be a Mobile Business Clinic and we don’t even own a bicycle.” – Random office discussions…

“It’s loud here, but in a really cool way!”
– Said a Ghanaian friend about a bar at Labadi Beach

“But whitey’s gotta get his jump on…”
– At the gym, about finding the right ledge to do his workout.

“I like the way you guys do things.”
– David, our local microwave repairman – he was impressed that we live a low key life.

“What kind of car do you have?”
“Oh, it’s a 4 wheeler but it’s small, but tall. It’s a tiny massive car.”
– While out at dinner, talking about how ridiculous it is to have a super-low car with all of the pot holes and speed bumps in Ghana.

“I like the way you guys do things.” – David, our local microwave repairman – be was impressed that we live a low key life.

“Hey Jon, is this country music?” 
“No I don’t think so… “
“Oh ok, so it’s town music.”
– Jon telling a story about one of his coworkers
“Man proposes and God disposes.” 
– A Ghanaian saying, mentioned when my friend was sick
“Dramatic times call for dramatic emails.”
– Mike and I, trying to get things done!
“I’d rather have a warm club than a cold star.”
– Christo from south Africa at a music festival at Alliance Francaise (referencing two common beers sold in Ghana)“Man, my small hands at this point put me at a total disadvantage.”
– Fariya at Fall Retreat, not being able to hold a lot of popcorn

“They’re completely consistent at being inconsistent.”
– Kombate (my boss) about the Ghanaian Electrical Company (ECG) after another random power outage.

“Being a farmer, Y’know, it’s exciting.”
– one of the MBC participants

 20141106_002902
– Wall of quotes at Shisha Lounge, a bar in Osu

“We like to ask tough questions here at Shawarma without Borders.”
– Some of my Middle Eastern EWB friends about missing food from back home

“When should I come back? I work during the day…”
“Ah just have someone pick it up for you”
“Uh who? Are you going to pick it up for me? I don’t have a servant…”
– at the Eco bank when trying to pay for my airline ticket (because buying things online here is pretty much impossible). People assume white people are basically millionaires. Look at you obruni, you must have domestic help.

“We’ll treat this business to a bear hug. You’re my friend but I’m going to squeeze you.”
– Charles, the investment expert

“I brought some water…”
“Wow, we’re going to drink so much water!”
“We’re going to pee in the lake right?”
– conversating near Lake Bostumtwe at Fall Retreat

“I think if you bring a baby goat to a club you pick up guys mostly.”
– Maarten from the Netherlands, talking about cute baby animals

“If you are aware of something you can’t go back”
– Florian (EWB National Office) about being gender blind during inspiration night at Fall Retreat

“I feel better because you’re smiling.”
“It’s a smile of terror!”
– With Yazan, in a taxi (that seemed super sketchy – driving fast on bumpy roads) on the way to Cape 3 Points

“Is Romanian similar to Albania?”
“Well, you know, the swears they travel….”
– Horia (Roamnian) talking to Ari (Italian) by the Volta River

“You’re the best third wheel ever. You keep us stable.”
– A story told by Beth, at Fall Retreat

“He’s a destroyer, but you know, he’s a cool guy.”
– Abhishek (from India), at a conference in South Africa – Referencing one of the Hindu gods.

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Ghana (2014) - Professional Fellow Placement (EWB) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

