“So, what you up to next week?” – Leaving for Bangladesh!!

If you had asked me the question “So, what you up to next week?” last week, I would have said “Leaving for Bangladesh!!”  Crazy right?  Not an ordinary answer, and definitely not what I had in mind even 2 months before leaving.  Here’s a bit of what I was feeling last week before I left…

20150829_111927     20150828_171327

Right now I’m in Toronto… trying to cram as much learning as I can into the next 4 days before I hop on my flight.  For those of you that don’t know, in July I was selected for an international internship in Bangladesh.  Before leaving, the 19 interns who’ve been selected are together at Humber College (in Toronto) to learn about everything from intercultural communications to safety precautions.  It was a great two weeks, full of workshops, getting to know each other, and making final preparations.

Last week was a whirlwind!  Although I was accepted in July, the funding was not yet approved.  I was told I’d be leaving at the beginning of September and that training would be at the end of August, but I couldn’t incur any expenses until the final word came through.  All I could do was wait… so I decided to make it a learning lesson to practice my patience (a very important skill when living in developing countries!).  Training was to start on Thursday in Toronto, which meant that on Wednesday I had to hop on a greyhound bus with all my bags packed and ready to go.  

20150825_115713

The funding came through that Monday, which meant I  had less than 48 hours to get my visa documents prepared, book a bus, figure out accommodation in Toronto, get all my travel vaccinations, wrap up my summer internship and my part-time job, finish packing, and say goodbye… phew!  It was a really long 2 days, but I made it on the bus and got to my hotel with no problems.  It was bit tricky doing all my last minute shopping and errands from my motel in Mississauga, but I managed to get it all done.

20150826_212038

On Tuesday I’ll be leaving from Toronto for a 20 hour journey across the globe. Fortunately, Steve is able to come up for the long weekend and spend some time in Toronto with me before I head off.  I’ll take some time to finish errands, then relax and enjoy the end of summer before leaving the country. Thankfully I only have one layover (in Abu Dhabi) and I get to travel with my coworker from Montreal (her name is Sharna).  I’m excited to get to know her better, since I’ll likely be living and working with her for my entire time in Bangladesh!

I can’t believe it’s happening already.  Stay tuned for more information about my trip! 🙂

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh/Nepal (2015/2016) - IYIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “So, what you up to next week?” – Leaving for Bangladesh!!

  1. Moritz says:

    Sounds like an incredible experience! I wish you best of luck and a great time! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

