Feeling the Pressure – How Society Influences a Woman’s Life

As a woman, I have always had the dreams of others placed on my lap.  “Here’s a new kitchen set to play with little girl”, “Don’t you want to dress up the barbie to make her pretty?”, and “You need a prince charming to come save you from being a damsel in distress!”.  You would think that this would be gone by the time you’re an adult and making your own choices.  But the words they use simply change.  Instead of prince charming it’s now a husband you need, and instead of an easy-bake oven the talk is now about mortgages – yikes!

nuit-blancheI have always been a bit rebellious, independent and nomadic.  I’m not one to “settle down” and do everything that’s expected of me.  Since I was 15 I’ve been flying around the world on my own, and since high-school I’ve known that I don’t want a traditional 9-to-5 job. As someone who now works in International Development and travels to a new country at least once a year (but usually more like 3 or 4), this “American dream” lifestyle doesn’t fit at all with my life plan.  No part of me wants a mortgage, and a picket-fence, and 2.5 children that go to good schools so that we can “keep up with the Joneses”. So what’s a girl to do?

Check out my latest blog on Expat Coffee Club to read more about my thoughts on this issue (and you can see the first bit below): The Pressure to “Settle Down”

Everyone is impacted by the society around them, whether they like it or not.  You may not care what other people think, but that isn’t going to stop them from telling you what you “should do” or asking you why you haven’t done it yet.  It’s not just the people around you either, it’s everything around you every day.  My Facebook is constantly filled with weddings, engagements, and babies.  TV shows are all about finding love (“The Bachelor”), getting married (“Say Yes to the Dress”), or life with kids (“19 Kids and Counting” or almost any sitcom…).

20160529_011532208_iosThis pressure is especially strong for women, who are told they need to have all the kids they want before they’re 35, apparently for health reasons.  I don’t think there’s a woman over 25 who hasn’t been asked about her future plans to marry and have babies.  In fact, I remember when my friends and I were about 23.  A friend of mine had a bit of a freak-out because she was newly single.  She reasoned that she was 23, which meant she was almost 25, which meant she was almost 30! She was single and needed to find a guy RIGHT AWAY – so that her timeline of dating for 2 years, engaged for 1 year, married for 1 year, and then 2-3 kids before 30 could come to fruition!  Man – that’s a lot of pressure to put on yourself, and it doesn’t help if the society around you agrees.

20160807_140403000_iosThis feeling is exacerbated by being a nomad, a traveller, someone who isn’t in one place for an extended period of time.  It’s not easy finding a partner if you’re only in a country for a few days or weeks at a time.  It’s difficult to decide where you want to live permanently (or even if you want to live in one place) if you’ve been to so many beautiful places around the world.  Some people don’t want kids – or if they do, they may not want to have them in a country where the hospitals aren’t as well-equipped, or they don’t have a family support system to help them out.  There are a lot of barriers to the “typical American dream” lifestyle when you travel all the time.

You can read the rest of blog post on Expat Coffee Club below:

The Pressure to “Settle Down”

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling the Pressure – How Society Influences a Woman’s Life

  1. LUCKY says:

    Women are easy target for the world. This post just shows us what’s the pressure a woman feel. Mesmerizing words with a beautiful thought. 😇

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LUCKY says:

    The actual facts of the pressure a woman bear for the world. Beautiful thought with mesmerizing word play. Well done.😇

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LUCKY says:

    Hey Amanda thank you so much to like my comment. You have no idea how it is important for me. So yeah, you are the first person who appreciates my work. Thanks to encourage me to do a good work for women. And I just wanna say ur writing skills are too good. Pls read my post too if u hv time #The diary of a bad guy about silence of the PINK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

