When in Drought, Drink Bailey’s!

As you may have seen in my last blog, Bolivia is experiencing major droughts. I thought this would be as good of a time as any to share a recipe I was just given for a delicious drink that requires no water.

In Canada, Bailey’s (a brand of Irish Cream) is extremely popular, especially mixed with coffee or hot chocolate. In summer, you can also have it on the rocks (poured over ice), or mixed with milk if you don’t want it as strong.

20161128_113200724_ios  baileys-12

Left: A bottle of store-brand Bailey’s (Irish Cream).  Right: A glass of our home-made Irish Cream (on the rocks).

Note: I don’t normally do recipe blogs on here but after 3 different people were amazed that you can make Bailey’s at home, and asked me for the recipe, I thought this would be a good reference for others as well.  Plus, it may be a lot cheaper and easier than real Bailey’s for all my friends living in various countries around the globe. 🙂

One day on Facebook I saw my mom and her friend making home-made Irish cream at her house in Mexico, so I asked for the recipe (special shout out to the expats of San Miguel, Mexico – Debbie, and my mom, Val).  When I travel to other countries, Bailey’s is incredibly expensive. Here it’s about 130 Bs. ($26), which is a lot more than a 20 Bs. ($4) bottle of Chilean wine you can buy at the corner store.  So, I broke down the costs of all the ingredients at the local supermarket by our house.  Even without going to the outdoor market, getting local products, and haggling for the price, we managed to reduce the price to only 60% of a bottle!  Not only is our bottle 40% cheaper, it also contains twice the amount! Therefore, the price per volume of our home-made Irish Cream is 30% of the original cost of a bottle of real Bailey’s (since Bailey’s is in a 750 ml bottle and our recipe makes about 1.5 L)! Plus if you make it yourself you can customize it to your taste.

chart-newest

So here is the recipe in case you want to try it at home.  I highly recommend it.  It’s a great drink for summer or winter (just not so great for people who can’t consume dairy…).  I hope you enjoy it!  Let me know if you try it, and how it turns out…

baileys-1Step #1 – Go shopping!  You need to buy the following items – most of which should be available at a medium-sized grocery store.

1 ¾ cup (414ml) of Rum
4 raw eggs
1 can (414ml) sweet condensed milk
1 pint (473ml) heavy whipping cream
2 Tbl (30ml) chocolate syrup
1 tsp (5ml) instant coffee
1 tsp (5ml) vanilla extract
½ tsp (2.5 ml) almond extract

 

Step #2 – Get out your blender, ingredients, and measuring devices.  You’ll need a blender that holds at least 1.5 litres of fluid, a measuring cup, and a teaspoon.

baileys-2Step #3 – Add 1 ¾ cups (414 ml) of rum to the blender.  *Don’t add more or it’ll taste gross apparently.  I haven’t tried it with different amounts, but my boyfriend likes strong drinks and I like weaker drinks and it’s pretty good for both of us.  He simple drinks it on the rocks (so it’s stronger) and I usually mix it with hot chocolate, coffee, or milk so it’s less strong.

baileys-3Step #4 – Add 1 can of sweetened condensed milk to the blender.  *The recipe calls for 1 ¾ cup (414 ml) but we always use one regular can (397 ml) and it turns out just fine.

Step #5 – Crack 4 eggs and add the raw eggs to the blender.

baileys-4Step #6 – Add 1 teaspoon (5ml) of vanilla extract to the blender.

baileys-5Step #7 – Add 2 tablespoons (30 ml) of chocolate sauce to the blender. *I usually add more because I feel like it, but I haven’t noticed that it changed the taste that much.

baileys-6Step #8 – Add 1 teaspoon (5ml) of instant coffee to the blender. *We actually forgot this ingredient the first time and I still thought it tasted great, but Steve said that it was missing a certain something.

baileys-7Step #9 – Add 2 small cartons of heavy whipping cream to the blender.  *The recipe only calls for 1 ½ cups (473 ml) but the cartons here are each about 250 ml, so we end up using 500 ml which turns out fine.

baileys-8Step #10 – Add ½ teaspoon (2.5 ml) of almond extract to the blender. *We couldn’t find almond extract in Sucre, so one time we used no nuts (and it tasted fine), and one time we chopped up full nuts (brazil nuts and walnuts, since it’s all we could find) into small pieces and added that.  I really liked it with the real nuts, and it added a bit of texture, but it’s probably not advisable unless like food with texture (like crunchy peanut butter, OJ with pulp, etc.).

baileys-9Step #11 – Blend all the ingredients together.  *If using full nuts, make sure that they’re in very small pieces*

baileys-10Step #12 – Pour contents of the blender into another bottle(s).  *Make sure your bottle holds at least 1.5 L, or that you have more than one bottle.

Step #13 – According to my recipe, the mixture will last for about one month in the fridge.  *However, we have never tested this since we always finish the bottle within a week! 😛

baileys-11Step #14 – Drink and enjoy!  *There are so many options for Bailey’s.  Here are the various ways we use it: in hot chocolate/coffee instead of adding milk/sugar; served by itself on the rocks (over ice); mixed with milk; and poured over vanilla ice cream as a topping.

 

I hope you enjoy this recipe that we just discovered.  It’s wonderful for us and has become a total staple in our fridge.  It’s the perfect drink for having on a cold afternoon (in hot chocolate) or a hot afternoon (over ice cream) after a stressful day in Spanish class!

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When in Drought, Drink Bailey’s!

  1. ablater says:

    Sounds delicious! I can’t do rum, but I think whiskey will be ok too. Yum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

