No electricity? How would I even survive?!

If you’ve followed my blog for awhile, or if we know each other in real life, you’ll probably know that most of my travels take me to “developing countries”. While I don’t love this term, I realize that it’s the best phrase we currently have to describe the group of countries where organizations and government from places with Canada normally do work in “international development”. I honestly enjoy my time living in places like Nepal, Ghana, and Bolivia. It is not the “norm” for places where people enjoy travelling, but it’s a great way to learn about the world. What better way to understand cultures than living in the same places where a majority of the world’s people live?  Although these countries have their challenges, I think the hardest for many people is learning how to live without access to modern luxuries.

garbageIn my latest blog (Living Without Modern Luxuries) I talk about some of the challenges of living without certain “luxuries” like running water and central heating. I also offer some suggestions for how to live a good life despite the lack of services in your new home. Although I haven’t ever lived in a place missing ALL of these things at the same time, I have lived in many places that often had regular outages of things like water or electricity, and I currently live in a place (Bolivia) where water outages are seasonal, central heating doesn’t exist, recycling is not available in my city, and hot water only comes out of shower heads. Here’s a sample of the first section of my newest blog:


There are many different places to live as an expat. In fact, any country other than your own would probably count, so you have hundreds of options! Most “expats” choose to live in comfortable countries with all of the modern amenities included. However, people are often surprised when I choose to live in “developing countries”. Although each country is different, these places often lack access to services that we would consider non-negotiable back in our home country.

coldCan you imagine renting an apartment in Canada and someone telling you that it didn’t have central heating and that you may figure out what to do during regular 12-hour power outages? I’m pretty sure you would say “No!” right away, and quickly leave to find another place that’s more suitable for your needs.  But in reality, that’s the kind of decision I make all the time when working in development. Although many rich expats have ways around these problems (like hiring someone to wash your laundry by hand for you, or buying an expensive gas generator), these solutions are not in the budget of your average aid worker. Plus, it’s often important to live in local neighbourhoods instead of embassy neighbourhoods, for the sake of learning about the culture and understanding the people you’re there to work with. So, how can you cope?

So, I put together a little guide about the lack of services you may experience in different parts of the world, and how you can survive (and thrive) in situations you’ve never dealt with before! Here are some tips I have for being “an expat in a developing country”:

Electricity – Having electricity is pretty useful, and something a lot of people take for granted. Not only is it necessary to light your home at night and charge your electronics, but depending on where you live, it might also be necessary for heating/cooling your food, heating your home, and your ability to communicate with others! Wow, that’s quite a lot of things…  If you want to know more about the best ways to cope with power outages in developing countries, you can read my blog about my different experiences with power outages in Ghana and Nepal.

powerWhat to do: If you don’t have electricity ever, then you just need to live a more simple lifestyle. Get up with the sun, only use electronics in your office, cook using gas/wood, etc. But this is not an easy lifestyle and takes a lot of getting used to (like camping – but permanently!). If you don’t have electricity occasionally, then there are a lot of different strategies you can use. A few I recommend most are: shopping daily for food (instead of worrying about meat and other produce in your fridge – which may or may not be cold), using multiple electronics for different purposes (instead of using your iPhone for reading books, alarm cloth, phone, camera, etc. – because what happens once your one gadget dies?), carrying a flashlight, and trying to figure out the electricity schedule in order to charge all your electronics when you can. You can also check what the system is like in the country you’re living in. Some countries even publish a schedule of when the power will be out (like in Ghana) and some are even more tech savvy (Nepal even has an app!).


If you want to learn about how to live without some of the other modern luxuries like hot water, a washing machine, and access to appropriate garbage disposal, then check out my latest blog on Expat Coffee Club:

Living Without Modern Luxuries

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No electricity? How would I even survive?!

  1. Congratulation on winning NEPALIAUSTRALIAN’s Blog Award 2016. Please click the link for more details.

    https://nepaliaustralian.com/2017/03/06/nepaliaustralians-blog-award-2016-winners-announced/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Don’t flush the toilet paper! – Access to basic services in Bolivia | Amanda Around the World

Leave a Reply

