I won! :) – Best Travel Blogger of 2016

nepaliaustralianblogaward2016Guess what? I won “Travel Blog of the Year” 2016 for this blog! How exciting is that? If you didn’t read my original blog post about being nominated, then here’s the short version. Every year, a fellow blogger who goes by “Nepaliaustralian” nominates her favourite 5 blogs in a variety of categories, such as food, travel, photography, and fashion.  This year, I was one of the top 5 nominees for “Travel Blog” of the year, and yesterday I found out that I came in first – wow! 🙂

Thanks to all my fans out there who voted for me – I guess it paid off! I started off blogging mostly for my friends and family to follow along on my adventures while I travelled. Over the years, I have gained other followers (who I don’t know – hey you guys!) and starting branching off from just travel to talk about other issues I care about like human rights, privilege, new things I learn about the world, life in developing countries, facts about new cultures, and international development.

In the coming months and years, I’m going to dedicate even more time to my blog. I’m hoping to write at least once a week so you all know what I’m up to! It might not always be right away, but I will try to write about all the places I go and the important things I learn. I think it’s important to constantly better yourself and learn about the world around you. There’s no shame in saying you didn’t know about a certain issue in a certain country, but I do think you’re always a better person if you seek out new information and then try to do what’s in your power to change the world for the better. You may not always succeed, but at least you can say you tried!

There are so many travel bloggers out there that it sometimes feels overwhelming. I often think that my blog isn’t good enough because I don’t focus on places that everyone wants to go to like New York, Rome, and Paris. My blog focuses more on “developing countries” which are not nearly as popular with tourists, and people usually worry (often unnecessarily) about safety concerns as soon as you mention them. However, I feel that these places deserve to be written about, and I’m going to keep doing just that! I encourage you, if you ever get the chance, go somewhere you’ve never heard of. Walk off the beaten path and visit a city that may be poor economically – I’m willing to bet that it’s extremely rich in culture, and that you’ll learn a thing or two about yourself in the process!

2017-03-06Thanks again to NEPALIAUSTRALIA and everyone who voted for me! You guys are the best and make what I write each week feel heard and appreciated.  Much love!

P.S. If you’re looking for new blogs to read, I highly recommend checking out all of the other nominees or at least the winners for some great choices in food, travel, fashion, and so much more.

About Amanda

Hi, I’m Amanda! Originally from Ottawa, Canada, I am currently living with my partner (Steve) in Sucre, Bolivia for the next year. I work in the unique space between industrial design and international development – but what does that even mean? I’m passionate about working WITH marginalized communities in a way that utilizes design to improve the lives of different types of people around the world. I have worked, studied, traveled, and researched on every continent (except Antarctica), and most recently I lived in Ghana, Bangladesh and Nepal. I love exploring new cultures and learning more about myself along the way.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I won! :) – Best Travel Blogger of 2016

  1. Congratulations! 🙂

    Like

  2. Seems that there are two Amandas who won this year. Congratulations to you! Keep up the great work, from Amanda at Something to Ponder About.

    Like

Leave a Reply

